A Sheepish Pincushion

I have finished the paisley cushion cover; I just need to sew it all together which I plan to do one wet weekend.  In my bid to learn more embroidery skills I have identified a couple of kits through which I can learn some new stitches and techniques, hopefully gain more confidence and feel empowered to start coming up with my own ideas.  I have mentioned before the course I was thinking of doing to give me confidence with design but I have decided that I will be trying to run before I can walk so this is my new approach which I am quite excited about.

First up is an embroidery kit from Lorna Bateman which will give me a taste of stumpwork, something which intrigues me, and teach me some new stitches such a bullion knots and drizzle stitches.  The kit also has the advantage of turning into a pincushion, something I have felt the need of recently so its a win win.

imageI always start of nervously taking ages to really get going.  I might do a few stitches and then I will keep making excuses for a few evenings before I make myself pick up the work again.  Once I get going I am normally OK.  To start with I had to tack some backing muslin to the background material, not something I have done before although quite simple.  I do wonder how easy it will be to remove the tacking when I have finished and whether I should have used thread a similar colour to the fabric in case I don’t get it all out – we shall see.  I have taken a ridiculously long time to do the 12 legs.  They are bullion knots which is new to me and I have had to unpick numerous tangled messes but finally I have got there. The instructions that come with the kit are very detailed but really its a case of practising the stitches first. Next up are the faces which are satin stitch, french knots and drizzle stitch.

imageIt wouldn’t be so bad if it wasn’t all so small – you can see the scale above.  When I opened the kit my initial reaction was well this is small and won’t take long but I suspect my dithering over new stitches will mean the opposite.

5 thoughts on “A Sheepish Pincushion

  1. Actually, sometimes smaller is trickier. It might be easier to practise the stitches beforehand in a thicker thread on a different fabric, Once you feel comfortable with the stitches, you can scale down to the real thing!

  2. Hope you get to enjoy the fiddly bits too – I suppose our eyes aren’t what they are either, which doesn’t help. I used to do a lot of counted thread cross stitch and other embroidery (on blank canvas) but don’t sit for long enough these days, and may not find it as easy to count the threads anyway! Look forward to seeing the finished article!

  3. This is really nice. I love the woolliness of the sheep and the colors of the piece. The sheep look a little like trapunto. I’ve never heard of stumpwork but I will make a point of finding out now.

Leave a Reply

