Freestyle Cushion Cover

20140129-163729.jpg

As I have mentioned before I am a restless soul and I often have to find something to occupy me when I am watching television in the evenings. At the start of the year started to learn crewel work but this is new to me and I have been getting stressed with it not looking as amazing as the picture. So a couple of weeks ago I decided to take a bag of cotton I bought from a local flea market and crochet a cushion cover.

It was completely liberating as I had no pattern, no instructions, I just made it up as I went a long. Flicking through some magazines I spotted the idea of doing a flap to close the cover and rummaging in my button box I found some suitable buttons. Doing the buttonholes was easy and to finish off the edges I did a couple of rows of double crochet. It isn’t perfect as some of the tidying up of loose ends show if you really look hard but I am very pleased with it and as I don’t have any picture or pattern to compare it to there is nothing to say I didn’t do just great!

I wonder if this is why I struggle with patterns as there is, for me, a pressure to replicate the picture and standard. I think there will be more of this freestyle creativity in the future as it is just so liberating.

4 thoughts on “Freestyle Cushion Cover

  1. This looks fantastic, you are so creative and enterprising. Put me to shame because all I ever do is think about doing things. So well done!

  2. I hopped over here from your other blog, which I found via Rusty Duck. I love crafting and do most of it while watching tv in the evenings. Currently I’m knitting a scarf, got an afghan on the go and I’m participating in a year long venture of making some felt critters each month. I’ve enjoyed the hand stitching so much I’ve searched for and found more felt patterns to make. Busy hands, happy heart 🙂

Leave a Reply

