Introducing Nellie Makes

I have been playing around over the last couple of weeks with a new blog and unsurprisingly the hardest bit has been coming up with a name for it. It started off as ‘Patiently Crocheting’ but that really didn’t trip off the tongue and I quickly realised that I wanted something that I could use for all sorts of crafts. I dabble in sewing, knitting, embroidery as well as crochet.

I have also been reading lots of crafting blogs over the last six months or so and some of them are wonderful – beautifully illustrated, inspiring and well written. I find myself feeling l like I did when I started my gardening blog – The Patient Gardener – some 5 years go; intimidated and self conscious.

I got my first comment yesterday and a few likes which was fantastic and made me appreciate that I take the 200 odd hits a day I get on the gardening blog for granted.

Anyway, I have decided to call the blog ‘Nellie Makes’. Why I hear you ask. Well Makes six is the best I could come up with to summarise the various crafts I do. I don’t like the term ‘crafts’ as for some reason it makes me think of doing things at school with paper and glue. As for ‘Nellie’, well when I was a child I was often called Nellie. If you use your imagination and think about it Helen backwards is Nellie.

So there we have it – welcome to Nellie Makes.

Leave a Reply

