A new obsession

2013_09010004

I have decided to start a new blog to chronicle my efforts to learn to crochet.  I have another blog, The Patient Gardener, which I have written for some 5 years and occasionally I post on there about various non-gardening activities.  However, as I am making a concerted effort to get to grips with crocheting I thought I would encourage myself by making myself record my attempts on a regular basis.

As I posted on my other blog crocheting is new to me and its something I started to learn earlier this year.   I have been learning via a monthly magazine – The Art of Crochet.  Its one of those magazine that they advertiseon television where you get wool with each issue and instructions so you can create a rug.  I umm’d and arh’d as these can be quite expensive in the long run but the detail on the instructions were good.

In May I completed a skinny scarf with a supplied with the magazine and it isn’t too bad, although the edges are a little wonky.  I then had a go at crocheting a bag which I was very pleased with.  It was easy to crochet as there was no shaping and the stitch was quite straight forward.  I then had to felt it in the washing machine which was a little nerve-wrecking.

I have been busy doing various other things and the pile of weekly issues, and the wool, has piled up.  I have also discovered that a work colleague is an expert crocheter which has given me some confidence as there is now someone I can ask when it all goes wrong.   Then I discovered Pinterest and endless inspiring crochet patterns and images.  So I have set to and I am crocheting up the squares for the throw.

It appears that there are 120 squares and I have probably done around 30.  However, the beauty of these squares is that there are lots of different designs, stitches and techniques and I am really beginning to feel more confident in my ability.  I have also noticed that a lot of the squares are repeated so I have decided to cancel my subscription to the magazine, finish the squares and rug and then I can start to explore other crochet patterns and projects.

I am intending to use this blog to show my progress firstly with the rug, posting the different squares as they are completed and then maybe further projects.

2013_09010005

Leave a Reply

